Consumer Affairs

Thanks Consumer Affairs for keeping us in the loop.

https://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/apx_alarm.html?page=1

6186 Vivint Consumer Reviews and Complaints

Christopher of Charlotte, NC Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 27, 2017

Had a faulty camera or sensor installed on Oct 18. Called to have replaced, couldn’t get someone out until Nov 16th. Escalated call and was told Nov 6th. I stated my desire to cancel. Was called by a manager on Monday Oct 23 and was asked if I’d be willing to keep the system if he could get someone out here on Weds the 25th. I agreed. Was given 12-2 timeframe. 220 pm no call, no show. I submitted my cancellation paperwork and called service. They told me I was given a 12-4 timeframe, which I know is not accurate. Tech showed up at 525 pm and didn’t even have the correct equipment. I like the idea of the system and the security it could provide, but not with faulty/defective equipment and a 28 day wait to have it replaced. Cancellation stands. Surprisingly, they can get someone out sooner to remove my system than to replace bad equipment. I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND VIVINT TO ANYONE, EVER. HIGHLY DISSATISFIED.

Vivint response

Christopher, thank you for your feedback. We definitely understand your frustration and we would be happy to assist you. Please email us at socialcs@vivint.com

Get expert advice delivered right to your inbox

We try to avoid the fluff and deliver tips and guides that really matter

Unsubscribe easily whenever you want

Resolution In Progress
Carla of Batesville, MS Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 27, 2017

The installation process is horrible. In signing up as a new customer, I was made to believe that I needed security equipment that wasn’t needed. Upon arrival, it was noted that my home came with basic equipment and additional Vivint products were not needed. Was told that I am to receive a refund for the items not needed over two weeks ago and I’m still getting the runaround. I’m due a refund of over $900… that’s not chump change!

Vivint response

Carla, that would be so frustrating! If you do not receive that refund soon, please reach out to us at socialcs@vivint.com so we can check into that for you. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Mahan of Los Angeles, CA Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 26, 2017

The technician came and did half a job, left the door handle opposite and the front door does not activate with the alarm. I have texted and tried to get another tech out with no response. In the beginning the technician was supposed to come twice over the weekend and did not show up.

Vivint response

Mahan, thank you for your feedback. We definitely understand your frustration and we would be happy to assist you. Please email socialcs@vivint.com at any time.

Resolution In Progress
Barbara of Abingdon, MD Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 26, 2017

I had my system installed on 10/12/17. The doorbell camera and backyard camera have NEVER worked. I get a UPS delivery at front door – no visitor detected. I go stand on my front porch and wave my arms around – no visitor detected. I and my dogs walk around the backyard – nothing. I have had technicians here twice – one for 7 HOURS! Replaced doorbell cam and panel. Nothing. I have a third tech appt scheduled for a week from today. I have read all the positive reviews. That’s why I selected Vivint. It just does not seem to work at my home and the technical support has been worthless. On top of that, it seems if I want to have the system removed, there will be a penalty for cancelling my contract.

Vivint response

Barbara, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to work with you to help resolve your concerns. Please email us at socialcs@vivint.com so we can assist you further.

Resolution In Progress
Jacquelin of Enola, PA Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 25, 2017

My grandmother passed away in 2016. I became the executor of her estate. She had a Vivint system installed in 2008. I called and spoke to customer service about paying for the system until I could sell the house. I sent all the requisite paperwork proving I was in charge of my grandmother’s estate. She said she would extend the contract for 15 months. I was sent an addendum with the billing address change and the monthly cost. I signed and returned it. I called today to cancel service because the house has sold and will close tomorrow.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Jacquelin, that is an understandably frustrating experience. If you contact us at socialcs@vivint.com, we can address this issue further. Thanks!

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Vivint?

  • 923,660 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Resolution In Progress
Lauren of Colorado Springs, CO Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 25, 2017

I signed up for Vivint around February 2017 timeframe and I was told as an active duty service member that I would be able to cancel my contract at no additional cost as long as I provided proof of my military orders. I received orders in July to transfer in September to train in Texas for 2 months, and then permanently change stations in December. I began the process of canceling my membership August 23, 2017 and provided my orders via email, and highlighted in yellow my school dates from September to November and report date in December to make it very clear that I would not be living in the residence Vivint was installed in after September. In addition, I requested the panel, doorbell, and bolt be removed by their field techs because my home was going to be rented after I vacated.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Lauren, thanks for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our systems and services and appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us. If you need any assistance please email us at socialcs@vivint.com. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Brian of Stockton, CA Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 25, 2017

I have been trying to get my refund for over 1 month now for some upgrades that were not completed on my recent installation. I have called every week only to have the representatives tell me it will take 3 days, and even they have gone to the point, “We will call you in the 3 days to follow up” and of course nothing still happens. Unfortunately for us we are stuck with them for 2 more years. I would not recommend Vivint to anyone, they truly don’t care about the customer.

Vivint response

Brian, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to help you and discuss your concerns. Please email us at socialcs@vivint.com so we can assist you further.

Resolution In Progress
Jill of Houston, TX Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 25, 2017

The system is not user friendly. I have tried and tried to load my brother into the system to access and it still isn’t working. The front door keypad doesn’t work to recognize my code so I have to unlock with the key still or my phone! The doorbell sensor video to delete the clips is tedious. It’s one at a time and very slow! I tried to add Z Wave smoke detectors and they won’t add to the system! The only part I enjoy is the climate control from my phone! The doorbell cam works on WiFi only so if your WiFi is spotty or slow it doesn’t work! For home automation I give it a D-. Going to have to call the techs to help me. I hope they don’t charge to come out to fix the system.

Vivint response

Jill, thank you for your feedback. We completely understand your frustration. Unfortunately, only third party devices carefully selected by our developers, or devices manufactured by us, will work with your system. We would be happy to discuss your concerns with you if you could email socialcs@vivint.com

Resolution In Progress
William of Philadelphia, PA Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 24, 2017

My alarm was installed 2 weeks ago and wasn’t working til today. A tech was there almost every day for two weeks with no success and said it was all due to an e-signature they said they didn’t receive. I sent it four times and had confirmation it was received. Also they withdrew over $700 from my account that was supposed to come out in monthly payments. I contacted them and they admitted they should not have withdrawn the money. I’m still waiting for it to be redeposited. Over the past two weeks I’ve spent over 8 hours on hold. Had my business disrupted and no one would return my calls and I’m a customer of 20 years at my home!!! Very unhappy.

Vivint response

Thank you for your feedback, William. We understand why this situation would be concerning. We will make sure to use your feedback to improve our products and services. Please feel free to reach out to us at socialcs@vivint.com for any further assistance with your account.

Resolution In Progress
TERRY of Clinton, MD Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 24, 2017

Please, do not waste your time or hard earned money! We purchased a home in Maryland in 2015 and selected to go with the security company (Vivint) contracted by the prior homeowner. Bad move on our part, because the contracts you sign do match the deals that the over friendly customer service representatives explain to you.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Terry, thank you for your feedback. We completely understand your frustration and we would be happy to assist you. Please reach out to us at socialcs@vivint.com

Resolution In Progress
John of Medicine Hat, AB Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 23, 2017

Ever since having this system installed in our home we have had nothing but problems. The equipment doesn’t work, they don’t monitor it to know when it isn’t working. They took a large sum of money from our account for no reason and when we informed them they still did not get the right amount refunded to us. Thank goodness I checked! I should not have to monitor the monitoring company. We have had to have so many tech visits scheduled to come repair the system that we can no longer take time off of work. It’s ridiculous. To make matters worse, I am locked into a contract with them for 5 years and can’t break it without a financial penalty. I now have to weigh out the cost of breaking the contract vs the cost of tech visits to repair their system over the course of 5 years.

Vivint response

John, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to work with you and discuss your concerns. Please reach out to us at socialcs@vivint.com so we can assist you further.

Peyton of Colorado Springs, CO Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 21, 2017

My husband and I sold our home and were moving to another state into a rent home and did not want to transfer the service or monitor into a rent house we do not own. We were told by multiple Vivint employees that we’re able to transfer the service to the new owners. Once we got in contact with the new owners they told us they were interested in the service. We called Vivint to inform them that the new owners wanted to take over the service. Vivint said I had to give verbal consent and that they then could call and say moves and takeovers/say their address.

VIEW MORE

Resolution In Progress
alicia of Pearland, TX Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 20, 2017

I have been a Vivint customer for 13 months. I called to have my alarm system removed due to being moved due to Hurricane Harvey. I was told that the technicians were backed up due to the hurricane (understandable). I informed the Moved Specialist that I would no longer be occupying the apartment and the technician would have to go to the leasing office so that someone could let him in. Now the apartment complex is saying that the alarm was removed BUT Vivint technician is saying that he did not remove the panel. This is a Luxury apartment complex so now Vivint wants me to pay to get a new panel without trying to investigate or anything.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Alicia, that would certainly be cause for concern! Please contact us at socialcs@vivint.com at your earliest convenience for further assistance. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Rhonda of Pensacola, FL Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 20, 2017

I’ve tried for over 5 months to cancel the services of Vivint. I spoke with numerous representatives who were trying desperately to keep me with a service that I honestly never used. I never had problems until I cancelled. My contract was done and I simply said thanks but no thanks. Over 5 months later my bank account was debited. Finally my bank has put a stop payment on these crooks. I did everything within my power to remain polite but I’ve had enough. STOP billing me.

Vivint response

Rhonda, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. Please email socialcs@vivint.com

Resolution In Progress
Donna of Kelowna, BC Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 18, 2017

Our experience has been dreadful. We’ve spent 20 hours on the phone, been stood up 3 times for installation, Had serious billing issues, because what they added to bill at the office was not the equipment we actually installed in the house. They offered me a $200.00 credit for the last time they stood me up and I had to stay home from work all day, then they took that back after I had the install done. This whole experience has been sad joke. They also never came back to finish the job. My front door knob you enter the codes in is not installed so my family can’t use the system. Also I’m not even totally installed and the installer won’t call me back, I’ve called him twice. For truly terrible service and enjoy this awful experience just call Vivint. The fight just continues.

Vivint response

Donna, we appreciate your feedback. We would be happy to review the account and correct any errors. Please email socialcs@vivint.com so we can assist you further. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

Angela of Killeen, TX Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 18, 2017

For starters after testing their panels for radiation levels I found out their panels give off dangerous levels of EMFs. I called to have the panel moved downstairs in a safer place. Not only did they charge me to have it moved, they left a hole in my wall where the panel was. They acted like they didn’t even care. This is a brand new house. It was just built last year. Horrible service, horrible device, horrible insulation. I do not recommend this company to anyone.

Vivint response

Angela, that’s not good! We will make sure to address that system functionality further. Please let us know if you have additional questions. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Nicole of Florissant, MO Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 18, 2017

Since having this system installed there have been a number of technical problems with the camera and the mobile app. Trying to talk to a live human being with common sense is a real nightmare. The wait time to speak with anybody is a flat out 30 min wait. Techs don’t show up for appointments and when they do make time for you caused you complained. They come and rush the customer and act as if they being inconvenienced. When you do actually speak to one of these idiots that can’t fix your problem. They put you on hold for an additional 20 mins then hangs up after that. I’m super ready to leave this train wreck of a company and go to their competition. At least they can actually get things done instead of scamming customers and not having clue the first as to how to treat customers.

Vivint response

Nicole, it sounds like you’ve had a frustrating experience. If you could please contact us at socialcs@vivint.com at your earliest convenience, we will gladly assist you further. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Michael of Shorewood, IL Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 17, 2017

I had an appointment last Friday, just had the system installed. It drops my camera all the time, we constantly have to reset it and the one camera never came back on after I spent 90 minutes with customer service. Took 7 days to get someone scheduled, 10-12 Last Friday. We finally left at 4 pm after waiting ALL DAY. I got a call at 4:15 telling me the guy was on his way… 4 hours after our window. This was the second time this has happen. I would not buy this product until they have better CS. They are growing too fast and forget about current paying customers. The support line is always jammed, 37 minutes has been my shortest wait.

Vivint response

Michael, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to assist you. Please email socialcs@vivint.com.

Resolution In Progress
Nic of Shasta Lake, CA Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 17, 2017

Starting it took over a month from my initial call to get a service rep to the house to do the install. The installer was very nice, professional and seemed knowledgeable about the system. 2 days after the install my outdoor camera went offline and disappeared from my system like it never existed, and the doorbell camera went offline. After multiple calls to customer service and hours upon hours of my personal time wasted on hold I ended up getting the doorbell camera back online by watching YouTube videos.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Nic, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to assist you and make sure everything is working properly. Please email socialcs@vivint.com

Resolution In Progress
alida of Stockbridge, GA Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 17, 2017

The poor customer service started when the salesperson left out a lot of details; that we weren’t aware of. Then it rolled down to the technicians that installed our equipment. They arrived at our home late and it took them until 3:15 am to complete the messed up job they did. They lied about where they could place our panel and did a rush job. They placed our cameras where someone could walk up and cover the lens. Our motion detector was hooked up wrong. When we are in the house it would make a strange noise. It seem like it was one problem after another problem. We called more than once and they came out more than once. We couldn’t hear the doorbell, so the technician had to turn the volume all the way up so we could hear it upstairs; but it is extremely loud downstairs.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Alida, that sounds like a frustrating experience! If you could please contact us at www.vivint.com/contact-support or socialcs@vivint.com, we will gladly assist you. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Angel of Lexington, SC Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 16, 2017

I signed up for Vivint back in May 2017. At first I love the system, but that quickly changed due to the billing issues first. Then the customer service I received. Then instead of Vivint making the experience better they just let me out of my contract. I feel this was a coward move. Then when Vivint came out to remove equipment, they messed up a wall as well as outside where the doorbell was. Then the claims department contacted me and they was not really pleasant considering their installer hadn’t done his job.

Vivint response

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback that is submitted to us so that we can improve our processes. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and we’re sorry to see you go.

Resolution In Progress
Annmarie of Cleburne, TX Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 14, 2017

I feel like I am being unfairly treated. The device have been terrible. Nothing works. I want all the stuff out of my house immediately. Now I’m being told to pay for the stuff they promised I would not have to pay for.

Vivint response

How frustrating, Annmarie! Please contact us at socialcs@vivint.com for further assistance. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Celestine of St.Louis, MO Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 14, 2017

Vivint is really a rip off. Everybody lies just to make a dollar and hurt the customer. My system stop working on day 2. I call them the tech never show up so I called them supervisor like 5 hrs after the schedule appointment. The problem was my battery life was bad but it suppose to have a backup battery that suppose last up to 3 days. Then maybe three week later my panel went blank so came and switched it out. Then a month later my backdoor camera said offline. They came and switch that one. Then a week it did it again and tech on the phone tried to say it was my internet until I informed him I was told the system don’t run off internet. They have their own system.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Celestine, your frustration is certainly understandable. If you could please contact us at socialcs@vivint.com at your earliest convenience, we can discuss these issues further. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Traci of Henderson, NV Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 13, 2017

Since the creation of our Vivint account, we have had various extensive issues that are in need of attention and resolution, or we will have no other choice than to cancel our service. On the evening of August * 2017, we had a meeting with our sales representative and his supervisor at our place of business. We informed them that we were interested in two systems; one for our home and one for our business. We were quoted that the alarm system for the business would be a total of approximately $40 a month total including service and equipment. We were quoted that the alarm system for our home would be approximately $50 a month total including service and equipment.

VIEW MORE

Vivint response

Traci, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. Please email socialcs@vivint.com at any time. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Kristen of Biloxi, MS Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 13, 2017

The system has never worked properly. I have had several troubleshooting calls with no solution. Now they want to charge me $75 to have a tech come out (when their website shows calls are only $49), but I should not have to pay for something that never worked and they never corrected within the free service period.

Vivint response

Kristen, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to discuss your concerns with you! Please email socialcs@vivint.com at any time.

Resolution In Progress
stewart of Cary, NC Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 11, 2017

I was never told my free installation and hardware was a loan, I was told it was free! When I called the salesman he said he didn’t know either. Only when I see the draft payments did I realize it was a separate charge and not part of the quoted monthly amount. I am very upset. Not sure what I am going to do, maybe get an attorney.

Vivint response

Stewart, we can certainly look into that for you! Please contact us at socialcs@vivint.com as soon as possible for further assistance. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Carlos of Las Vegas, NV Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 11, 2017

It all began when the salesperson by the name of Santiago was selling his product. Everything went well until 2 days later what he promised us was a lie. He said that we would receive a $15 discount monthly, this would make my monthly payment $52 a month. I had to call about 3 different times, talk to different representatives and someone finally was able to help me. He was only able to give me a $10 off for the next 2 years or $15 off for only a year. I was not happy how it all began with a lie. Then about a week later my system had a malfunction. It took them a couple of days to be able to send a representative. I have a special needs daughter that is sensitive with sounds. My smoke alarm was beeping and they still did not send anyone even though I told them about her disability. This has been my worst experience. I had Monitronics for 6 years and I never had a problem. I will change companies as soon as my contract is over.

Vivint response

Carlos, we appreciate your feedback. We would be happy to assist you and help resolve your concerns. Please email socialcs@vivint.com at any time. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
profile pic of the author

bert of Colorado Springs, CO Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 8, 2017

Although Vivint does what it says it is going to do in the protection of your home, everything else is out the window. I don’t believe I was EVER told that I was signing into a 6 year contract, that was NEVER my intention. The so-called “FREE” installation isn’t really free. When I asked to get my bill lowered from the $85.99 a month charges, due to our financial situation changing drastically, I got the “Well, you’ll have to claim bankruptcy in order to not pay our fees.” WOW… so I’m trying to make in this world so that I WON’T go into bankruptcy, and you tell me to go ahead and do it. I’m appalled at this company.

Vivint response

Bert, thank you for your feedback. We completely understand your concerns and we would be happy to discuss them with you. Please email socialcs@vivint.com at any time.

Resolution In Progress
Jordan of Lake Charles, LA Verified Reviewer
Original review: Oct. 6, 2017

I have never experienced customer service as bad as Vivint in my life. The salesperson guaranteed x, y, and z when I was not even interested in the first place. They have yet to finish my camera installment which they promised 3 weeks ago.

Vivint response

How frustrating, Jordan! If you contact us at socialcs@vivint.com at your earliest convenience, we will gladly help you out with any and all issues you’re experiencing currently. Thanks!

Resolution In Progress
Robert of Pasadena, TX Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer
Original review: Oct. 5, 2017

We have had nothing but problems since our system was installed May 2016. Each time something gets fixed another “security” piece of junk malfunctions. Cameras, doorbell camera, signal booster, control panel, clip storage and back door lock are some of the issues that I have had. I thought I purchased a system that worked well. Not so.

Thanks consumeraffairs for keeping us in the loop.

https://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/apx_alarm.html?page=1

6186 Vivint Consumer Reviews and Complaints